Parent Reviewers and Mummy Bloggers

Here's what real-life mums and teachers have to say about us....

Michelle Pannell

28th April 2017

I'm Michelle or Mich for short. I live in East Sussex with my family and I admit it, I fully have the blogging bug!

Read the full article here.

"My JJ is always finding online resources for testing and expanding his knowledge as he is a very bright boy and thank the Lord he finds learning enjoyable."

It was clear within a few minutes though that the free websites he has found are not a patch on the Education quizzes. There is so much variety, all subjects in one place, all levels in one place and they are all written and approved by teaching professionals. JJ was particularly made up to see there are 450 Spanish quizzes as this is the language he is learning at the moment.

Katy Earley

26th April 2017

My name is Katy, I’m the very proud mother of two little people (seven year old Daisy and four year old Evie), slave to Mabel the cat and looker-afterer of Cottontail and Christmas Pudding the rabbits.

Read the full article here.

"As well as the quizzes online, Daisy has also really enjoyed reading the website's daily blog, where a new fact filled post about nature is published every day, covering topics like animals and the weather."

The Education Quizzes website does exactly what it says on the tin; it provides you with a whole heap of educational quizzes - written by teachers, using the school curriculum - to work through at your leisure. The website is easy for children (and grown ups) to navigate, with clear categories divided up into separate topics ranging from KS1 all the way up to GCSE level.

Chermaine Samphire

24th April 2017

Chermaine Samphire

- https://www.chammyirl.co.uk/

My name is Chermaine though I'm better known as Chammy. I’m a 32 year old Yorkshire-bred rambler who is a wife and mother.

Read the full article here.

"During game night we can slip a few of their teacher written quizzes in between rounds of Uno or during Monopoly. It adds a different element to the games as well as keeping Eban’s brain ticking."

I’m not great at maths, sometimes I really struggle to do basic sums so it fills me with dread having to help Eban with his. Education Quizzes supply quizzes for a range of subjects, at your child’s level. Subjects such as science, history and ICT. They cover from KS1 to GCSE so help your child all the way through their education until post 16 education.

Eban loves the history quizzes, last term they did a topic about the Romans at school so these quizzes have come in handy.

Fi

23rd April 2017

Working Mum of two mini's. Sharing the honest trials and tribulations of life with ovaries and ambitions. Caffeinated & sleep deprived

Read the full article here.

"Education quizzes is a clever resource full of educational style quizzes, games, information and puzzles for enquiring minds ranging from KS1 right through to GCSE level. It has been proven that most people learn better by applying knowledge through puzz"

As a parent, I feel reassured that this resource has been designed and written by qualified teachers and have the depth of knowledge that will certainly support the national curriculum. However, the best part is that you can spend much more time on the areas of the curriculum that are ignored or rushed through in a fun and engaging manner. Equally, you are not confined to one subject or stage of learning. Zak has been trying the sections for older children and benefiting from being challenged a bit more than he is used to.

Kate Green

19th April 2017

I'm Kate, a coffee addict who loves writing, tattoos, good nails and manners.

Read the full article here.

"Another good way, for my youngest especially, is quizzes. Give him something to win and someone to go against and he is ALL UP IN YOUR GRILL *cough* – I’ve no idea where he gets his competitiveness from…… "

As a family, I think we’re all quite ‘learny’ (yup, totally made that word up) if it’s a subject we like, it’s not a chore to learn about it, and it’s much easier to remember things when you’re enjoying what you’re doing, which is why I try to make it fun at home. Spell words before the timer goes off, read sentences backwards, write stories, sing songs to remember maths questions, do it all bouncing around on the sofa if you like, whatever floats your boat!

Deb Sharratt

3rd April 2017

All about living, dreaming, making, and doing, going to places and trying something new in my family of boys

Read the full article here.

"Most children love quizzes, my boys certainly do. They also like to be competitive, enjoy a little bit of sibling rivalry and also like getting things right, so I'm all for an additional way to learn at home that is also fun. "

The boys thought the quizzes were fun and repeated them to improve their scores too. I asked if it was what they were learning about at school and they both replied yes, although they found some maths that they are about to start learning so it is definitely following the same topics as the curriculum which is reassuring.

Nyomi Nomipalony

25th March 2017

Nyomi Nomipalony

- https://www.nomipalony.com/

Feminist family lifestyle blogger and vlogger, North East England

Read the full article here.

"The quizzes being on the computer or Ipad really help with this as the photos help contextualise it for Arlo and him doing ‘grown up’ work on the laptop/Ipad adds to the novelty of it for him."

One site that is helpful is Education Quizzes. It’s packed full of ‘quizzes’ for all curriculum levels and topics from key stage one right up to GCSE. The quizzes are written by teachers in line with the curriculum. I’ve been having a look at KS1 for Arlo which showed me really clearly how much better he is at maths than english. He was able to answer so many more of the maths questions to the literacy ones. It’s a really useful learning tool.

Maria H

24th March 2017

I'm Maria and I'm mum to two boys - E who's 6 and M who's 4. Blogging about the ups and downs of being a working mum and everything in between.

Read the full article here.

"It instantly seems like less of a chore when you are on the computer and also lets E get used to using a computer rather than using tablets all the time."

It’s based on the National Curriculum and aims to support learning at home through a variety of fun quizzes that are written by teachers and tailored to curriculums different Key Stages. Once you have clicked onto the correct stage for your child (E is Key Stage 2), the website is then broken down by subject. For example, Art and Design, English, Geography and Maths.

Laura

23rd March 2017

Wife and Mummy to five very special children - Lewis 12, Eva 4, Megan 3, Harrison 2 and Joseph who lives forever in our hearts

Read the full article here.

"As a parent I soon realised that Educational Quizzes does exactly what it says on the tin, and I was excited to see what Eva and Lewis thought of it."

It was really helpful for Lewis to take quizzes in his chosen options to reassure him, and us, that he had made the right choices. It was hugely beneficial for us to see in black and white that Lewis was excelling in History and Design Technology, two of his chosen options, and also really refreshing to hear that actually, he quite enjoyed taking the quizzes and agreed that he would find it helpful over the next three years.

Rachel

20th March 2017

This blog was set up to share ideas, activities and resources that will help kids develop in a creative way

Read the full article here.

"I was really impressed with the range of subjects and topics that the website covers."

Harrison is in year one, which is the first year in Key Stage One. Whilst he doesn’t have any formal homework, other than his reading books and some weekly spellings, we get daily updates from his school about what the class has been doing that day and ideas for supporting them at home. We’ve just bought him a laptop to use, so when we found out about Education Quizzes, we logged straight on.

Emma Shilton

24th January 2017

Mummy, Wife, Friend - Top 10 UK Parenting Blogger - Family, Lifestyle & Travel with SW food chat & weightloss

Read the full article here.

"With all the core subjects to choose from, there’s plenty of educational quizzes to keep them occupied and it’s great to know that the quizzes are written by teachers who know their stuff. "

The results of the quiz are instant and you can print off the results or try the quiz again. I like how the answers are readily available on screen once you have chosen an answer. I like how you can test the knowledge and know immediately where you are going wrong. There’s also a little explanation too which is useful and puts the sentence into context.

Mandi Morrison

20th January 2017

Mandi Morrison

- http://www.hexmumblog.com/

Owner of Birth Pools Online, mum to seven lovely children and wife to one amazing husband

Read the full article here.

"Tyrus is currently working on the Early Years curriculum and I thought it might be a way for him to engage, I obviously have to sit with him and read out the questions, but he has enjoyed the Tyrus and Mummy time and he has really enjoyed it."

The one thing that stood out with this site was the fact that as you worked through the 10 questions, inputting your answers it gave a pop up with further information if you had given the wrong answer, with so many they just give you a score at the end and which questions you got incorrect, with this style, the children are constantly learning as they go along.

Tracey Williams

19th January 2017

Tracey Williams

- http://williamsworld.co.uk/

I share my home with 2 kids 1 husband 1 budgie and a large mountain of ironing

Read the full article here.

"Katie is in Key Stage 2, and there were a variety of subjects for her to work through. There are a total of over 400 quizzes, and she was pleased to see her favourite subjects included"

As the website was really easy to use, I left Katie alone to try the quizzes. Here is what she said about Education Quizzes.

“I enjoyed coming in from school and doing the quizzes on the laptop. They were fun and I liked that you could pick music as well as Maths and English. When I got an answer wrong, it gave me the right answer so I could remember this. As well as school subjects, there are also other sections such as Flags of the World and London. I tried the London quizzes but I didn’t get very many right. But I am excited that I am going to London with school soon, and hopefully my knowledge of our capital city will improve”

Vicky Welton

18th January 2017

Vicky Welton

- http://www.vevivos.com/

Poet, Photographer, Lifestyle, Parent & Travel Blogger, Pregnant, IVF baby, due July 2017

Read the full article here.

"The quizzes consolidate classroom learning and help children feel more confident about reaching the top of the class"

One of the things Ross and I have been very keen on is to ensure that we support Grace whenever it comes to her school work. Education is paramount to her success and, if it is something we don’t take an interest in, then we know that she is the kind of child who will likely lose interest herself. This is one of the many reasons Education Quizzes comes in handy.

The quizzes are written in such a way that they meticulously follow the curriculum guidelines so you can be confident the quiz subjects match what is being taught at school.

Mary Smith

18th January 2017

UK family lifestyle blogger living in beautiful Yorkshire. Pursuing "The Hearty Life" ...one that is wholesome, cheerful, abundant and lively!

Read the full article here.

"They love it and so do I…. Ethan especially has been rather passionate about it and it certainly seems to be the answer we were searching for that extra “kick”."

I love it and have found it great for me as a parent to not only see where they are at and get a feel for what I should be doing with them outside of school (let’s face it kids rarely go into depth on what they are learning once they leave those school gates), but also to know how to help them. It has given me better understanding of what they should know and be able to understand rather than me expecting too much or making tasks too simple…

Phil Palmer

11th December 2016

I’ve wanted to get into blogging for a long time. After setting up my wife’s blog (Phenomenal Success) there’s always been something at the back of my mind that’s made me want to do it!

Read the full article here.

"Educational Quizzes appears to be the Holy Grail for parents like me, that wish to monitor their children’s development and support where possible in a non-formal way."

I’m really happy that this is available not only for my 14 year old but my 10 month old. Thinking that Bethany can get the support that she needs in a low pressure setting wherever she is whenever she wants. It also means that at each stage we’ve got Parenting pointers for how we can give them support and what we should be doing. I also think that we can up skill too! Maybe not physics again.

Laura Wilson

12th December 2016

I am a wife and mother of two children, Alf 5 and Soph 2. I love to share our adventures, as well as my own thoughts, life and loves.

Read the full article here.

"When I first heard about this site, I thought it was a great idea. I've always learnt really well from this kind of method and had it been around way back when during my GCSE's I know I would have seen an improvement in my grades."

I think this site is a really useful well priced learning tool.There is a vast and impressive variety of subjects and quizzes available. Although this will help a large age group, I think this would have been most useful for me during my GCSEs where I had a 'if I don't know it now, I never will' approach to swatting before exams. Sitting these quizzes would have been far more interesting. There is no stone left un-turned in terms of subject matter and I'm sure pretty much everything has to be covered in there somewhere.

Joanne Szczyglowski

13th December 2016

Joanne Szczyglowski

- https://mummyofthesuburbs.com/

Hi! I’m Joanne a 40 year old Mother to one beautiful Daughter Amelia aged 4 years old and Wife to David.

Read the full article here.

"When I came across Education Quizzes I thought that this would be an ideal time to start some extra learning to support the curriculum taught at school"

We found the quizzes really interactive and fun to complete.The multiple choice answers makes it a lot more likely that Amelia will be able to give a correct answer, this in turn builds on her confidence. When a correct answer is given, this leads on to another talking point or topic for discussion with your child. I think this is a great feature, as it gives you the opportunity to interact more in depth with your child on this topic.

Rachel Primrose-Hill

19th December 2016

Rachel Primrose-Hill

- http://thelittlepip.com/

London family lifestyle blog that started as a record of growing a ‘Pip’.

Read the full article here.

"The quizzes are written by teachers so I could trust them – unlike the Christmas card I unwrapped to write today and found such a glaring grammatical error that I actually couldn’t bear to send it."

I could choose between the different key stages so I could make sure the quizzes I chose were appropriate to Pip’s ability but that I could also choose from KS1, KS2, 11-Plus, KS3 and GCSE to support older children if I wanted – it’s sometimes tricky knowing what ability level is appropriate so this was comforting I wasn’t doing anything beyond her ability.

Alice Judge-Talbot

20th November 2016

Alice Judge-Talbot

- http://morethantoast.org/

Single mum, double the fun: the life and loves of a young(ish) Digital Consultant, writer and single mum.

Read the full article here.

"I was really impressed with Education Quizzes and enjoyed having a go with it not just on my own but with Elfie, too. We’ll definitely spend more time on the site – she’s already been asking to go back on."

I was hugely impressed by the quizzes and the amount of information included in the site. SO MUCH is covered, not just from the early Key Stages but from the curriculum I remember from my own GCSES (gulp) 17 years ago…

A monthly subscription (which can be cancelled at any time) is just £9.95 which I think is great value for money considering the amount of information that is available.

Jenny Midwife

14th November 2016

Jenny Midwife

- http://midwifeandlife.com/

I write about pregnancy, birth and breastfeeding; reviews; fashion and beauty; home; my life and family; parenting tips and tricks

Read the full article here.

"The founders of the company really want to help all children to be successful at school"

I like the layout of the site and it’s simple, easy to use quiz interface. I like the fact that when you choose your answer, you know straight away whether you’re right and why you’re right. They’re tailored to each age group. I tried the KS1 quizzes too with Phoebe, which uses the same format, but the questions are easier. She chose the art questions, but I don’t think she’s covered quite what they were asking about yet, for the question: Painting watery paint onto paper or a canvas is known as what? – A clean she answered (it’s a wash). I’d use it again, particularly for my own understanding of the curriculum, a lot has changed since I went to school, or else I don’t remember. So often I feel that some of the curriculum is irrelevant, but I’m sure it all has it’s place. I’m pleased to see they have lots of life skills and social skills related quizzes as well as all the different religions.

Joy Jackson

14th November 2016

Happily married with 4 boys aged 7-19 years. The oldest and youngest have special needs. I blog about varying aspects of my life.

Read the full article here.

"I really like how it is appropriate for all three of my youngest children, who are at very different levels"

I think this is a great site and well worth the money. I really like how it is appropriate for all three of my youngest children, who are at very different levels. I believe it will make it easier to target which areas I need to help them develop, whilst building their confidence to see where their strengths lie. I am particularly interested in the 11+ section because my Year 4 is already pushing to answer questions in preparation and I think this is a fun way to do it. I like how it doesn’t just train him to pass a test but gives him the tools for learning that he will need in his lifetime. This site is simple for children to use and for adults to help them find their areas of strengths and weaknesses to build on. Again I think it is great value for money for such a great tool.

Stephanie Couch

13th November 2016

Stephanie Couch

- http://www.acornishmum.com/

Mum to two handsome mini men Fin born in 2004, and Harley born in 2006

Read the full article here.

"I do find my boys are more willing to do any of their homework that involves using a laptop or tablet"

As parents, I think the results of the quizzes can help us to ascertain where our children might need a bit of extra help educationally. Not just for exams as let’s face it they are only a small part of their education. It isn’t just about exam results, it’s what they take away with them from school. The extra knowledge, and even the confidence that can come from that.

Kara Guppy

3rd November 2016

The blog has been established for over 3 years now and is my space to write about the tales of raising my family of 6 children

Read the full article here.

"We love playing games on Christmas day and I think we may have a family challenge to see who gets the best score………..I best get revising!"

As we approaching a 3 week break for the Christmas holidays, much as I think they do need a break, I also want to keep their brains ticking over so getting them to do some online educational games is a happy medium.

Education Quizzes are perfect for helping children to be successful at school with easy and enjoyable quizzes set around school curriculums for Key Stage 1 (Reception to Year 2), KS2 (Years 3 – 6), 11-Plus, KS3 (Year 7+) and GCSE quizzes.

Jacinta

24th October 2016

I am married and have 3 children – 2 girls aged 11 years and 4 years and a boy who is 7 years old

Read the full article here.

"I particularly like how the website is laid out. It is clear and age focused so you know exactly how to access what you are looking for."

Each quiz is made up for 10 questions and though you need to think before answering, there are multiple choice answers to help. What I really love about the quizzes is that as you answer each question it tells you if your answer is correct or wrong and it also gives a reason for why it is so. So much easier the turning to the back of the book or waiting till the end of the entire quiz to get the answers. You know immediately where you’ve gone wrong and it is easier to take note of it and understand where you’ve gone wrong.

Best of all, since each quiz consists of only 10 questions the children don’t feel over burdened and are spurred on to do more. At least, that’s what I found with mine. They wanted to take more quizzes and were interested. They also found similarities to what they are learning in school.

Tracey

19th October 2016

One Frazzled Mum is a blog written by Tracey featuring her daughter Olivia

Read the full article here.

"it will be a valuable resource for any parents and children regardless of their age"

I was actually impressed by the amount of information on the site and the variety of quizzes. For me this means Olivia would be able to cover a lot of information quickly and with the answers being shown immediately, correct or incorrect, then even if she didn’t know the right answer before, she will straight away. You are also able to dip in and out at anytime. With the short quizzes it is easy to cover more and easy to complete quickly meaning you can learn more without actually realising you are

I’ve not really been focused on extra learning at home in the past but I feel this year Olivia needs a bit more help to prepare her for her SATS and I think Education Quizzes would be perfect for the girl who, as described by her teacher, is a great student if not a bit of a daydreamer who needs to focus more, pay attention and pick up the pace. If the girl was any more relaxed she would be horizontal!

Clare

17th October 2016

Lives in Essex with her husband Paul, daughter Emmy and son Harry

Read the full article here.

"Family fun but also learning through play, which as a parent I try to encourage lots of – if they are having fun they don’t see it as work or as learning"

As a parent, I want to help Emmy and in time Harry get the best out of their time in school, while Emmy finds school work fun and exciting currently I know this may not always be the case, and we are already beginning to struggle getting her to sit down and complete her homework…..I completely get it – school work is for school and home time is for playing, and even at almost 7 she doesn’t see why they need to mix.

I have been having a little play around with a new website called Education Quizzes and Emmy has been joining in with some of the quizzes at home and we have been having great fun – family fun but also learning through play, which as a parent I try to encourage lots of – if they are having fun they don’t see it as work or as learning.

Kay

12th October 2016

A working mum, a wife, and a it would seem a blogger, based in south Norfolk

Read the full article here.

"We've been trialing the quizzes with our daughter and she's been really enjoying them, it's a great activity to do at the dining room table post dinner"

It is suggested that you spend between 10 to 30 minutes each day (one-to-one) with your child and do a reflective learning activity. Education Quizzes offers quizzes suitable from KS1 through to GSCE, this fun way of learning helps to reinforce the knowledge from the same subjects that your child is being taught in the classroom. For the same cost as a DVD (£9.95) you can get a month access to this wonderful resource.

We've been trialing the quizzes with our daughter and she's been really enjoying them, it's a great activity to do at the dining room table post dinner. They cover a huge range of topics from recognising uppercase and lowercase letters to quizzes surrounding the Battle of Hastings!

Karen

11th October 2016

30-something family blogger. Mum to three awesome boys

Read the full article here.

"The whole website is worded in clear, non-confusing language making it easy to use for every learner"

I am of the view that the purpose of school is to provide a basic education to every pupil in its care, and the purpose of parents is to nurture those children and that education until they reach their full potential. That’s why websites like Education Quizzes are important. They allow families to access learning resources for and with their children which tie in with the UK National Curriculum, meaning all the extra work you do at home will contribute to and support their school education. The primary objective of Education Quizzes is to help children to be successful at school, right from the day they begin Key Stage 1.

Teachers write all the quiz content and so the content is current and accurate in each learning area. Parents can therefore have confidence that what they are learning and revising with their child will be the same as is being taught in school. Navigation of the site is pretty good. Study of the school curriculum is made easy and enjoyable with suites of KS1, KS2, 11-Plus, KS3 and GCSE quizzes. Simply choose your preferred Key Stage, then your subject, and then select the quiz you want to take.

Sabina Green

19th September 2016

Stay at home Mummy to 3, stepmum to 1

Read the full article here.

"We have found them to be a great little tool to help us, to help them"

We are very lucky that our school pays a subscription fee for all children to access online education quizzes like these ones here. They are divided up into all stages of the curriculum from KS1, KS2, 11-Plus, KS3 and GCSE as well as all subjects within each stage. The education quizzes have been written by teachers for all children of all levels. The quizzes are fun to complete and give the children their scores straight away. It’s great for encouraging them to try again to beat their score.

As parents we also have access to their scores to see where they might need extra help and where they are doing well. We have found them to be a great little tool to help us, to help them. Parents can subscribe to Education Quizzes for just £9.95 per month and this gives access to all the quizzes on the site. Your subscription can be cancelled at any time. It is also possible for schools to subscribe at a greatly reduced cost so if it is something you think would benefit your child then tell your school about it, it could be just what they are looking for.

Siân Russell

16th September 2016

Siân Russell

- http://www.helpfulmum.com/

Mum of two, a boy born in March 2009 and a girl born in March 2011

Read the full article here.

"Learning through quizzes is such a fun way to learn, especially when it is done in such a way that the child doesn't realise that they are learning!"

I think it's really useful that the answers in the quiz are multiple choice. It means that they really have to concentrate on the answers and not simply guess which answer is right. The quizzes are also marked instantly and any corrections are clearly explained. This is great because children can use the website independently. My son in particular responds well to competition, and loves to watch Quizzes on TV, so this is a perfect way for him to learn.

Education Quizzes are a monthly subscription site. The price per month is £9.95 and the subscription can be cancelled at any time. You only need one subscription per family and you can use the whole range of quizzes available. However, it is possible for your child's school to subscribe to the service on behalf of the students and benefit from greatly reduced costs. Depending on the size of the school, it is possible to sign up students from as little as £2 per year. This would pass on the learning benefits to children without the parents needing to subscribe themselves.

Jaime Oliver

15th September 2016

A stay at home working Mum who loves nothing more than getting out and about on adventures both near and far

Read the full article here.

"Personally I love the concept and it would work brilliantly within so many different care settings"

Recently I was made aware of a company called Education Quizzes that have been set up to do just what I am looking for. The sites primary objective is to help children to be successful at school with easy and enjoyable quizzes based on the KS1, KS2, 11-Plus, KS3 and GCSE curriculum that have all been written by teachers!

The website has easily displayed areas and so I was able to find the KS1 (key stage 1) area and then with the subsection I could see what quizzes were available depending upon subject.

Caroline Magovern

13th September 2016

Caroline Magovern

- http://mrsmagovern.com/

A mum of three young children and small business owner

Read the full article here.

"The quizzes are split into key stages, KS1-GCSE, and then by topic. They are fun, interactive and suitable for all children"

Florence came home from her first day at school and raved about the school having loads of computers and it dawned on me that this is how she will learn. She will use the internet to research whereas I went to the library or asked my parents. She will create work on the computer using various programs whereas I wrote an essay in my jotter pad.

The quizzes are split into key stages, KS1-GCSE, and then by topic. They are fun, interactive and suitable for all children – there’s even an ‘English as a Second Language’ section. It is suggested you spend around 30 minutes a day in a one to one situation with your child working through the various topics. I’ve had a look through the KS1 Education Quizzes with Florence and, despite being in Reception, she was actually able to make a good guess at the answer. It kept her engaged for some time as we discussed the options and I also let her use the computer to navigate the site. She became familiar with the colour coding on the site quickly and remember which topic was associated with which colour.

Becky Goddard-Hill

5th September 2016

Becky Goddard-Hill

- http://family-budgeting.co.uk/

A parenting and personal finance writer and author of How to afford tiem off you’re your baby

Read the full article here.

"Kids love doing quizzes and these are both straightforward and fun whilst being hugely helpful at reinforcing the curriculum"

After a summer of fun I know the very last thing my kids want to do is buckle down and work hard but it is so important to keep up. To ease them back into school life I have been encouraging them to spend 15 minutes a day on Education Quizzes.

Education Quizzes is a wonderfully interactive website full of quizzes around the school curriculum for kids to complete covering KS1, KS2, 11-Plus, KS3 and GCSE. Kids love doing quizzes and these are both straightforward and fun whilst being hugely helpful at reinforcing the curriculum.

Stephanie Chapman

22nd August 2016

Stephanie Chapman

- http://imcountingufoz.com/

Former BBC employee, Mother to a girl and a boy, born in 2008 and 2011

Read the full article here.

"I am a firm believer that learning absolutely does not begin and end in the classroom"

I am a firm believer that learning absolutely does not begin and end in the classroom, and one of the ways I’ve been preparing Elliot for the dizzy heights of year one is by engaging him in a few education quizzes. He’s got smarts, that one, and sped through a lot of the KS1 material, but that said, he also found some of it trickier to manage, so I feel there’s a nice balance there. It’s good to be able to gauge how he’s doing. And anything that’s managed to successfully lure him away from Minecraft and PopularMMOs videos on YouTube for a few minutes gets a thumbs up from me. For a few brief moments I was concerned his brain may have rotted to mush in the month he’s been off school, but not so. Colour me assured.

Steph Curtis

17th August 2016

Stories of family life involving a type of autism known as PDA (Pathological Demand Avoidance)

Read the full article here.

"The quizzes are written by experienced teachers and are a fun way to help your children learn without realising they are doing so"

The Education Quizzes website is full of hundreds of educational questions with multiple choice answers. These are all broken down into sections split by topic and by key stage age (with a very helpful explanation if, like me, you keep forgetting the difference between KS1, KS2, KS3 etc). Other subject areas include 11-plus, English as a second language, and Specialist topics - questions on a variety of subjects, such as Flags of the world, Nature and Art.

The main subject headings are then broken down further, so for example within English quizzes are on Adjectives, Alliteration, Comprehension, Nouns, Spelling.... and the list goes on. Hundreds of areas for your children to delve into - mine found that they wanted to check out those that they felt confident in first, and then try some of the others. There's no time limit, or necessary order, just lots of quizzes for your child to dip in and out of to help underpin their school learning.

Jenny Eaves

12th August 2016

Mummy to two small, delightfully energetic boys

Read the full article here.

"It’s a quick way to find out where there are gaps in your knowledge and improve on them."

When I was younger I used to love taking multiple choice quizzes to test my knowledge, it’s a quick way to find out where there are gaps in your knowledge and improve on them. Most children find quizzes fun to complete and will happily stick at them longer than written ‘tests’.

Being a mum to a soon-to-be 5 year old I decided to check out the youngest quizzes first, opting for art, it being a favourite of mine. There were quizzes ranging from colour mixing to famous artists, all easy to understand and in clear large writing.

Danielle Duggins

10th August 2016

Danielle Duggins

- https://someonesmum.co.uk/

English teacher living on the Gloucestershire/Worcestershire border. I have two children, a boy, aged three, who is on the autistic spectrum, and a daughter, aged one.

Read the full article here.

"Overall Education Quizzes could be a really useful resource for parents and teachers alike."

One of the great things I found about Education Quizzes was how diverse their material is; if you have several children of all different age ranges, studying many different subjects, a subscription to Education Quizzes could be really invaluable.

Nikki Thomas

3rd August 2016

Nikki Thomas

- http://stressymummy.com/

Blogger, writer, mother, thinker, dreamer, drinker of too much tea

Read the full article here.

"My two younger sons are screen addicts. I told them about Education Quizzes and they were keen to give it a try."

Hands up if after the first week of the school holidays, you are already fed up with grappling your children from screens. I am pretty sure that I am not the only parent with that problem. Thankfully, Education Quizzes may just be the answer, somewhere that combines screen time with learning time.

Education Quizzes has quizzes for children of all ages, from Reception age through to GCSE , including a section for the 11+ and even an ESL section for those learning English as a second language. Quizzes are separated into key stage areas with a range of subject areas in each one and the site is really easy to navigate.

Ali Chapman

19th July 2016

Clean (ish) living blogging mum of 3 boys. Can be found under a pile of laundry with an iPhone.

Read the full article here.

"You have always got it at the touch of a button / finger"

The added bonus of Education Quizzes is that you can embrace any pleas for the iPad or if you’re travelling and want to fit in a quick top up to help then to go over any learning they’ve done at school. You have always got it at the touch of a button / finger.

My 12 year old loves showing me how much he knows and when he’s got the answer wrong, the correct one is revealed straight away. (So he can redo the test getting top marks, is that cheating?) He’s actually more for this type of learning and revision that writing, much like his older brother who has just completed pretty much all of his revision online using websites such as BBC Bitesize! ( I won’t bang on about that one as that’s pretty common knowledge)

Becky Freeman

19th July 2016

Wife of one, mother of two small people, blogger and vintage homeware owner on the side.

Read the full article here.

"Freddie has actually really enjoyed being tested on subjects he enjoys"

Both children break up from school/preschool within the next few days, and blimey, do they need the holidays now. Freddie in particular is really tired, and I know will benefit from several weeks of being able to switch off. BUT (and this is where the ‘but’ comes in), I’m always torn between letting them chill out totally for the whole of the holidays, and still keeping their little brains ticking a bit with continuing reading/doing some fun number exercises etc. I’ve read about ‘learning loss’ over the holidays, and why some teachers would prefer shorter summer breaks so as the children don’t forget a proportion of what they’ve learnt and have to start with it all over again come September.

In my opinion, great learning, especially for younger children should be made fun so as they don’t really know that they’re learning at all. Freddie has actually really enjoyed being tested on subjects he enjoys (ask him a question about train routes or the London underground and you have a child in his element), so I was interested to try out some fun KS1 quizzes by ‘Education Quizzes’ in a variety of topics to see if this would be something he’d enjoy doing over the summer (and not even realise he was keeping on brushing up on school work, natch).

Hannah Rose

20th June 2016

I'm Hannah a new mum living in Belfast with my boyfriend Matt & our daughter Luisa

Read the full article here.

"The quizzes are short 10 question activities designed to keep the student really focussed"

My youngest brother is currently in the first year of his GCSE’s. My mum has asked me a few times to see if I can give him a hand with revising. I’m not sure i’m entirely qualified to help him mind you as my style was very much procrastinate and panic. I’m no tutor but I wanted to find a way to help my brother out and also get my Mum off my case. A good friend recently spoke about Education Quizzes and how they were helpful for her teen so I thought this sounded like something that could help us too.

As I said my brother is doing his GCSEs so I had a look at the quizzes available that would suit him. I think the concept is really interesting, the quizzes are short 10 question activities designed to keep the student really focussed. I don’t know about you but a lot of my memories of revising involve staring into space trying to remember what I’d just spent the last hour reading.

Laura Powell-Corbett

10th June 2016

Laura Powell-Corbett

- http://www.lifewithbabykicks.com/

A 30 (something) mum to the Big One and Baby Boy

Read the full article here.

"It is a resource that can be adapted and played with to help parents help their children"

School, at the beginning, is all about learning through play. Play based learning. Using things that stimulate and excite children to teach them fundamentals. Maths. English. Science. So why not apply this principle once children graduate up to Key Stage 1, Key Stage 2, 3, GCSE, A Level, University. It has been said that we learn more when we enjoy what we are doing, when we are engaged and when we have support. Which was why I was delighted to discover Education Quizzes which supports learning for all ages from 5 through to 17. With fun quizzes designed by teachers to bring the fun back to learning.

With a wide variety of subjects covered from Geography to History, Maths to English, Spelling and Times Tables. It is a resource that can be adapted and played with to help parents help their children. Including technology, which we all know kids love, questions that are age appropriate and suitably pushing.

Harriet Shearsmith

9th June 2016

Harriet Shearsmith

- http://www.tobyandroo.com/

Mama to two wonderful, if slightly crazy, little boys called Reuben and Tobias and my fabulous daughter Edith

Read the full article here.

"You will be able to support their learning while away for whatever reason"

I’ve been having a look around and something that was recommended to me by a friend is trying out educational quizzes on the computer or his iPad. A place like Disney requires daily down time because there are going to be so many nights when we just won’t be in bed until after 11pm, which is not something that is a common occurrence for my kids. They are in bed by 6.30/7pm every night (usually so I can splay out on the sofa and think about how productive I could be if I *just* had the energy!) which means that they will be exhausted so the plan is to have at least 2-3 hours in the mid/late afternoon to just lounge by the pool, sleep in the buggy or chill out in a bar/cafe somewhere. I know for a fact that Roo will ask me for stories and his iPad at this point, so we will be taking it with us and I will also have my laptop to do some work, even though it will be minimal.

I love the idea of uploading educational quizzes that are relevant to his schooling – so many apps (most of which he has or has tried out) are all about one aspect like phonics or basic maths, but these quizzes include everything that could be relevant to do with KS1 (year one learning stage). In fact, it doesn’t matter what stage your kids are, every key stage has a subsection, so you will be able to support their learning while away for whatever reason, and if you just ask the teacher what topics they will be covering whilst away you can alleviate the pressure on them too. Think of it as homeschooling on holiday – it doesn’t feel like work, it doesn’t feel like you’re doing stuff to educate your child, but with every passing minute you ARE!

Jenny Paulin

19th May 2016

Jenny, aka Mummy Mishaps, a clumsy mummy who loves her boys and cake!

Read the full article here.

"It cleverly mixes learning into challenges and of course being on a computer screen instantly makes it appealing to kids"

lets be honest, sitting down and writing out letters and words, or addressing number problem solving etc can be seen as boring by many children and, lets be honest, who wouldn’t prefer to be at home playing, being outside bouncing on their trampoline, riding their bikes or watching TV instead after a busy day of learning at school?

Nowadays, learning is much more varied and interesting compared to when I was at school because children have on line resources at their finger tips to aid them and make learning more fun. Huzzah!

Education Quizzes is one such online aid, and it claims to be the UK’s number one revision site. It cleverly mixes learning into challenges and of course being on a computer screen instantly makes it appealing to kids – and my two are no exception. They will do anything for some time on the iPad or being allowed to play on my phone, and being the mean mummy that I am this is a rare occurrence because otherwise they won’t get off these devices, at least happily! However, I am more likely to allow them screen time if they are actually benefitting from it educationally, and they do not even see that, as they just think yay! Mummy is allowing us to use her computer! Aha! See? Clever!!! *winks*

Cat Parrott

19th May 2016

36 year old married mother of three, living in a small village in the Midlands.

Read the full article here.

"We were really impressed with the range of subjects and the large number of quizzes available in each"

Both boys tried out the site and I had a go too. We were really impressed with the range of subjects (they had everything from maths to gardening) and the large number of quizzes available in each. The format is very straight forward with 10 multiple choice questions in each quiz and the result shown immediately at the bottom. The other big win from my point of view is that the child is given additional information under the question and a correction pops up if they get the wrong answer so rather than just testing knowledge it is actually reinforcing and teaching as you go.

The only down side for us was that for T who is 5, while the content itself was totally age appropriate, the language in the introductions and around the screen was beyond his reception level reading skills so he couldn’t sit and do the quizzes alone so we did them together.

Laura Seaton

18th May 2016

Happiest on a balcony in a foreign country drinking coffee and watching my kids have fun together

Read the full article here.

"It is great to see them enjoying taking the quizzes and they don’t hate it like they do with their homework"

I was recently introduced to Education Quizzes where the kids can find quizzes online that are suitable for their age groups. They can select the subject they want to study and get started straight away.

Alison is really enjoying reading and spelling at the moment and is in year 1 and with over 100 spelling tests in the Key Stage 1 area it will keep her busy for a while.

Elizabeth on the other hand is in year 3, hates English but loves Mathematics so the Key Stage 2 maths quizzes are perfect for her. It is great to see them enjoying taking the quizzes and they dont hate it like they do with their homework because they can choose what to do and when.

Donna White

18th May 2016

Mum-of-two, blogger, journalist, web marketer and maker of perfect cakes. (One of those statements might be a fib)

Read the full article here.

"My kid’s two favourite things – computers and competition – to make learning a lot easier"

Education Quizzes combines my kids’ two favourite things – computers and competition – to make learning a lot easier. My youngest son Blake in particular will respond to anything if you can make it into a quiz. It suddenly becomes a challenge and therefore a lot more fun.

But not everyone might agree with me. So it’s interesting to know there is also a schools section of the site which was recently launched, and allows schools to sign up students for as little as £2 per year. It’s a great way of using quizzes for revision, and for building overall confidence and ability in class.

Alice Hassall

9th May 2016

Alice Hassall

- http://www.lifeasalice.com/

Mum of Kyd, a teen with down syndrome & Rocky, a crazy toddler

Read the full article here.

"Having websites like this really helps me have faith that when the time comes myself and Rocky can create the same home learning scenario as my highly educated mum did with me"

What with all the hype about the SAT's about at the moment it seems that this site has come to my attention at the perfect time. Whether we believe that the tests on ones so young are right or wrong, this website, written by teachers, is here to boost the confidence and give a little help to those who need it.

Education Quizzes was created to help parents and children come together to add a little boost to their education outside of school. It's a proven fact that some children will find it harder than others to concentrate at school, I for one was one of those children. I was academic but was distracted by others so easily that I found learning in that environment really hard, choosing to go it alone and study on my own at home. There was no internet then, just books and a clever parent to help me. I fear for my children as my education suffered as soon as I hit my teens and so the idea of doing homework with Rocky scares the crap out of me. I know I'm not alone in this as a parent. I want to help him, I want to give him the best, but I feel unable to do so. Having websites like this really helps me have faith that when the time comes myself and Rocky can create the same home learning scenario as my highly educated mum did with me. I just pray he doesn't hit a bump in the road at his teen years like me.

Otilia Stocks

8th May 2016

I married to a yorkshire man called Adrian in 2006 and a couple of years later our daughters where born

Read the full article here.

"I find the Education Quizzes website as a safe place where I can get the right information because the quizzes are written by teachers"

Although my children will not have to go through the same exams like the British kids I found the Education Quizzes website a fabulous resource for me and for them. We all do them together although Anastasia is too little for them. It’s all fun at the moment but I am trying to teach them as much as I can about the English language and life. For now my eldest, Kara is in a normal Romanian school but we might move her in the future to the Cambridge School in Constanta that works after the same curriculum as the schools in UK. Or who knows maybe at some point my girls will be keen to move back to UK and they will need to know as much as possible about their country and their roots.

I find the Education Quizzes website as a safe place where I can get the right information because the quizzes are written by teachers and I love the fact that they also made them fun, which is great cause the last thing you’d want is a quickly bored child.

Emma Vanstone

21st April 2016

Mum to three, loves travel, photography and LEGO. Passionate about science education.

Read the full article here.

"There are SO many quizzes on such a variety of topics that they don’t get bored"

Back when I just had one child at school, I was organised Mum, spellings were meticulously learned, homework finished early and I was generally on top of everything I needed to be and fully able to spend the time needed helping my son at home. Fast forward 3 years and the story is a bit different, not because I want to help any less, just because I have less time. Spelling sheets get put in a pile for ‘later’ or even worse lost and ‘later’ never comes. Three lots of letters and homework isn’t easy to manage, especially when you work and have extra curricular activities most nights. I am lucky in that my eldest doesn’t need much input from me apart from actually making him sit down to do the work, and my daughters are so keen and eager that they will happily sit and write or do an occasional worksheet. However, I do feel a bit of a failure at times, as I would like to do more at home, but equally want my children to have some downtime, with that in mind I am always on the lookout for fun ways for the children to learn that require minimal input from me, allowing me to spend time with another child who might need my attention more.

Why my children like Education Quizzes

  • They get to use the computer.
  • They like the satisfaction of getting questions right and trying to improve on their previous score.
  • The competitive side of a quiz really appeals to my children and encourages them to keep trying.
  • The quizzes are short, allowing them to complete a couple even when we only have a small amount of time available.
  • There are SO many quizzes on such a variety of topics that they don’t get bored.

Liz Weston

20th April 2016

Mum of two, wife of one and part time dog owner

Read the full article here.

"There’s a huge range of topics – and I’m impressed by this"

When it comes to homework and/or anything that feels like learning, it’s a proper Kevin and Perry scene in this house. It’s a shame really that the boys aren’t old enough to know what Kevin and Perry are – perhaps some YouTube education is in order? I worry that I’m too much of a tiger mom or that I’ll look back and feel that I was hot housing the boys in some ways. I know we need to make learning as fun as we can, if they’re going to keep going with it, but making it happen is rather more challenging! I was therefore rather intrigued to see that Education Quizzes wanted some people to check out their site.

It’s interesting, having been a Twinkl subscriber for so long, to be checking out something that’s kind of similar, but different – this is a site where the premise is that you play a game online and there’s no printing involved. There’s a huge range of topics – and I’m impressed by this – this is KS2’s offering…

Penny Car

19th April 2016

Penny Car

- http://beingmrsc.com/

Wife to Mr C, mum to Little Miss C & Master C. Crochet addict, radio lover, crafter, runner, tea drinker, WI member, school governor & Ladybird book collector.

Read the full article here.

"Looking through Education Quizzes it gave me a great overview of what else is covered in each subject"

Now I have to admit that I’m not the best of parents when it comes to letting my kids lose on my laptop, even when it’s for educational purposes, but last night I handed my laptop over to Little Miss C to let her try out Education Quizzes. As she’s in Year 1 at the moment I headed straight to the KS1 section and selected a few quizzes for her to try. Obviously she wasn’t able to do everything on offer as some things aren’t covered until Year 2, but there was still plenty to choose from. Divided into subjects we headed to the Maths and English sections and LMC tested out her knowledge of capital letters, shapes and days of the week. Each quiz had ten questions and she really enjoyed showing me how much she had learnt at school.

As a parent I sometimes struggle to know exactly what LMC is learning at school – after all, it’s all changed significantly from when I was at school! Looking through Education Quizzes it gave me a great overview of what else is covered in each subject at KS1 level. As well as being able to sit her down with the quizzes it also gave me some great prompts for what else she had been learning about.

Kate Sutton

18th April 2016

Kate Sutton

- http://witwitwoo.com/

Writer, social media manager and parent

Read the full article here.

"I feel like I’m offering him a little extra support at home"

I’ve found a website that offers educational quizzes for all different age ranges/key stages, and if I’m careful, and catch Dexter in a particularly good mood, I can go through one or two with him. It’s something similar to what we did to prepare him for his 11+ exam and it worked really well. I just feel like I’m offering him a little extra support at home which, in turn, hopefully gives him more confidence at school.

It’s hard to go from the top of the class to the middle – to feel like you’ve dropped down the ranks just because everyone around you is bright too, and I’d hate for Dexter to feel like he hates school. He’s a little more settled now we’re nearing the end of Year 7 and I can only hope that continues, but boy, it’s been a rough ride.

Colette Burgess

16th April 2016

I started blogging as a mainly personal record of life with Ben, Chloe & Amy - a place to note down the things they have done to make us smile

Read the full article here.

"As a parent they give you a clear taste of what is expected of your child and what gaps they might have so you can support them better at home"

I’ve recently been introduced to Education Quizzes – a subscription site designed to help support children across the Key Stages from KS1 (which is Ben right now) right through to GCSE quizzes. The quizzes are written be qualified, experienced teachers and cover all aspects of the school curriculum. For once this isn’t just about maths and English!

The biggest plus points of for me are that the quizzes are short and sharp – meaning your child isn’t going to get fed up with them. As a parent they give you a clear taste of what is expected of your child and what gaps they might have so you can support them better at home. Oh, and the challenge of beating your previous score is always appealing – who doesn’t love a bit of competition, even if it is with yourself!

Jane Blackmore

11th April 2016

Jane Blackmore

- http://www.northernmum.com/

A working Mum of three

Read the full article here.

"They love it, and although common sense tells them they are learning the fun element of it takes over and pushes that thought to the back of their mind!"

Within education, it is easier to be a more hands on help. Academically I want my children to push themselves to be given the best platform of choice in their later years. But whilst they are still in primary, it is important to all of us that learning is a fun and not a forced activity. In addition, I dislike that in recent years, primary education seems to focus on literacy and maths over any other topic. At home we enjoy more of the other topics not so heavily covered in the overwhelming curriculum that makes up the recipe for the end of primary SATS.

From a parental point of view, the (Education Quizzes) site is user-friendly and easy for kids to navigate through. They love it, and although common sense tells them they are learning the fun element of it takes over and pushes that thought to the back of their mind!

Karen Whitlock

3rd April 2016

Mum to Freyja (5) and Emily (3), wife to Rich, and part-time Science Teacher

Read the full article here.

"It would certainly be a useful resource for me as a teacher to use as either a lesson starter, or a plenary at the end to test understanding of the work covered. "

I have a lot of pupils who enjoy making beautiful, colour-coded spider diagrams of their revision notes, and whilst there is a place for this in revising for their exams, effective revision does have to be active. You need to test your learning, so you understand what you already know and remember, and what you need to focus on. Trying to replicate a spider-diagram from memory is a good way of doing this. As are flashcards for learning key definitions. I often get my pupils to make up quizzes for each other – that way they are revising as they are making up their questions and answers, and then being tested as they attempt the quiz that another child has made up for them.

Alternatively, Education Quizzes provide a huge range of quizzes for children all the way up from KS1 to GCSE. I was really impressed with the breadth of the curriculum content in the Biology section (which is my specialist subject), covering not only the topics needed for the GCSE exams across the examination boards, but also areas for “How Science Works”. It would certainly be a useful resource for me as a teacher to use as either a lesson starter, or a plenary at the end to test understanding of the work covered.

Donna Wishart

29th March 2016

A married Mum of two

Read the full article here.

"With quizzes from KS1 all the way to GCSE I know that we’ll be helping LP with quizzes from now all the way through to revising for exams"

Educational Quizzes have proven a great way to not just test her knowledge but also to supplement her education too. We’ve been focusing on English – the alphabet, word construction and basic sentences at the moment but I know that over time we’ll be able to help LP with other subjects too as her formal education continues.

With quizzes from KS1 all the way to GCSE I know that we’ll be helping LP with quizzes from now all the way through to revising for exams. It’s hard as a parent to know how to support your child’s learning – especially when you went to school so long ago and everything has changed so much but I now feel confident that we can help LP to learn without the pressure of needing to know everything ourselves. Who knows, we may even learn something too!

Emma Bradford

21st March 2016

Emma Bradford

- http://www.emmaand3.com/

Mum to 3 and teacher of many

Read the full article here.

"The quizzes are superior as they have all been written by teachers which makes them relevant, fun and engaging"

We learn best when we are being actively involved in the learning, reading books is not the best way for most people to retain information and mind maps, playing games and quizzes help the knowledge to stick and therefore we often make learning fun and creative in our spare time. Most people love a good quiz and this is where Education Quizzes is a fantastic resource. Education Quizzes have quizzes for all school aged children from KS1 to GCSE students, the quizzes support the national curriculum but allow you to explore the areas of the curriculum which is frequently rushed through, due to time constraints.

The quizzes are superior as they have all been written by teachers which makes them relevant, fun and engaging. They can be used by the whole family in ways that suit you and here are just a few, I am sure you can see how it will fit into your routines.

  1. Many of my friends often have family nights at the weekend, they grab a take away and play board games. These quizzes can be used to facilitate that quality family time.
  2. If you are a grandparent that is looking after the children or babysitting this again can give you all something to do together.
  3. As a teacher (I am doing some private tutoring) I will use these as a summary to a topic we have covered.
  4. In the classroom I would use these with my tutor groups. During tutor time teachers do much more than take the register and these quizzes can be used with either vertical or horizontal tutor groups.
  5. As a subject specialist they can be used as a starter or a plenary activity for the class.

The Tutor in Your Computer!

Quiz yourself clever - 3 free quizzes in every section

  • Join us (£10/month) to play over 4,000 more quizzes
  • Reinforce your school learning in the comfort of home
  • Build your confidence in National Curriculum subjects
  • Test yourself to identify gaps in learning
  • Revise fast for tests and exams

© Copyright 2016-2017 - Education Quizzes
TJS - Web Design Lincolnshire

Valid HTML5

We use cookies to make your experience of our website better.

To comply with the new e-Privacy directive, we need to ask for your consent - I agree - No thanks - Find out more

help desk software