Every Question Helps You Learn

Join Us
Leading Streak Today
Your Streak Today
Leading Streak Today
Your Streak Today
African Flags 5
Test your knowledge of flags in this enjoyable quiz.

African Flags 5

The African Union, formed on May 26th 2001, is a representation of the governments of Africa. It has the aim of greater unity between the African countries and the people who live on the continent.

54 African states are members of the African Union, although three (Guinea-Bissau, Egypt and the Central African Republic) are currently suspended. The only African state which is not a member is Morocco, which voluntarily left the OAU (the predecessor of the AU) in 1984 in protest over its recognition of Western Sahara.

This quiz is about the flags used in 10 of the countries which are represented by the African Union.

To which large African country does this flag belong? It gained independence from Britain in 1960 and its capital city is Abuja
The greens on the Nigerian flag represent the forests and the natural wealth of the land, whilst the white symbolises peace
This flag represents the world's youngest country which came into existence on July 9th 2011. What is its name?
Central African Republic
South Sudan
Burkina Faso
South Sudan became independent of the rest of Sudan following a referendum in 2011. The flag it adopted was that of the Sudan People's Liberation Movement, the political wing of the Sudan People's Liberation Army who fought in the civil war which led to independence
This flag belongs to which country? It is bordered by Senegal, Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean.
Ivory Coast
Guinea-Bissau was formerly known as Portuguese Guinea. Following its independence in 1974 it adopted the official title Guinea-Bissau, utilising the name of its capital city to distinguish it from Guinea and Equatorial Guinea
This is the flag of which country? It has three capital cities; Pretoria (executive), Bloemfontein (judicial) and Cape Town (legislative).
South Sudan
Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
South Africa
São Tomé and Príncipe
The flag was adopted in 1994, following the suffrage of all races in the country. Black, gold and green are the colours of the African National Congress, who have governed South Africa since 1994, whilst red, white and blue found on both the Dutch tricolour and the British Union Jack. Holland and the UK both have historical links with South Africa
Which small country on the West coast of Africa has this flag? It lies on the equator, has a population of 1.5 million, and its capital city is Libreville.
Equatorial Guinea
Despite its small size Gabon is well off for African countries. It has a large reserve of oil which accounts for 43% of Gabon's gross domestic product and 81% of its exports. This makes Gabon one of the most prosperous countries in the southern part of Africa
Which disputed territory is represented by this flag? Morocco and Mauritania both hold claim to the land which is the largest and the most populated on the United Nations list of non-self-governing territories
Western Sahara
The territory was governed by Spain until 1975 when authority was given to a joint administration formed by Morocco and Mauritania. War broke out between the two nations which ended in 1991 with Morocco controlling two thirds of the land. The ownership of Western Sahara is still disputed and the pictured flag is that of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic who claim sovereignty of the land
To which nation does this flag belong? It is the westernmost country on the mainland of Africa and takes its name from the river which marks its eastern and northern borders.
Western Sahara
In 1959 Senegal and French Sudan gained their independence and the two territories merged to become the Mali Federation. However, only two months later the federation split into the two nations of Senegal and Mali
Which West African country, whose capital city is Freetown, does this flag represent? The country won its independence from Britain in 1961 and its official language is English.
Sierra Leone
Cape Verde
Ivory Coast
The capital, Freetown, was founded in 1792 by black slaves who had been freed by the British and had fought alongside them during the American Revolution. The abolitionist, John Clarkson, gathered over 1,000 former American slaves and returned them to Africa to settle Sierra Leone
This flag represents which West African country? Its capital city is Yaounde, and it gained independence from France in 1960, and from Britain in 1961
What is now Cameroon was divided between the British and the French after World War I. French Cameroon became an independent republic in 1960 and the southern part of British Cameroons (the 'S' is intentional) joined it one year later, forming the modern country
Which North African country is represented by this flag? Its largest city, Casablanca, was made famous by the 1942 film starring Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman.
Western Sahara
Although Casablanca is the largest city in Morocco, with a population of around 4 million, the capital is Rabat. Other cities of note in the country are Marrakesh and Tangiers, which was founded 2,500 years ago


Author:  Graeme Haw

© Copyright 2016-2024 - Education Quizzes
Work Innovate Ltd - Design | Development | Marketing