Oceanic Flags 3
Howzat! Cricket is a popular sport throughout Oceania.

Oceanic Flags 3

Just like all of the other inhabited continents, Oceania has a love of sport. Similar to the Olympics or the Commonwealth Games, the Pacific Games are held every four years and all nations within Oceania (except for Australia and New Zealand) take part. The Oceania Football Confederation comes under the umbrella of FIFA and is the means for qualification to the World Cup. Cricket is popular in the region and Australia is historically the most successful of all nations at that sport. Australia is also the most successful team in Rugby League, which is the national sport of Papua New Guinea. The national sport in New Zealand, Samoa, Fiji and Tonga is Rugby Union and Australian Rules Football is popular all over Oceania, though it has failed to gain popularity elsewhere.

Find out a little more about some of the countries in Oceania by playing this quiz about them and their flags.

To which country does this flag belong?
Norfolk Islands
New Zealand
Marshall Islands
New Zealand was formerly a part of the Australian colony New South Wales. It became a separate colony in 1841, a British Dominion in 1907, and fully independent in 1947
This is the flag of the islands which are named after which biblical character?
King Solomon
King David
The Solomon Islands are made up of six major islands and over 900 smaller ones
This is the flag of which country; a collection of islands which includes Tahiti?
Northern Mariana Islands
French Polynesia
Solomon Islands
American Samoa
In the centre of the French Polynesian flag is a disc, the bottom half of which depicts the ocean and the top half the sun. Upon the ocean is a Polynesian canoe with a crew of five. The crew represents the five groups of islands which together make up the country
To which country, named after a British explorer, does this flag belong?
Norfolk Island
Marshall Islands
Solomon Islands
Cook Islands
Captain James Cook visited the islands twice (in 1773 and in 1777) and named them the Hervey Islands. The name Cook Islands was not used until the 1820s when it made its first appearance in a Russian naval chart
This is the flag of which territory, whose capital city is Pago Pago and whose largest city is Tafuna?
American Samoa
Pitcairn Islands
Papua New Guinea
The flag shows a bald eagle, the symbol of America, clutching a Samoan club and fly-swat. The club represents the Samoan Government and the fly-swat traditional wisdom. The eagle represents the protection given to the islands by the USA
Which country, originally named the Navigator Islands by European explorers, is represented by this flag?
Pitcairn Islands
Marshall Islands
In 1899 the Samoan Islands were shared between the Americans and the Germans. The German controlled islands were taken by New Zealand during World War One and became a colony until they won their independence in 1962. They are sometimes called Western Samoa to distinguish them from the American controlled islands of the same name
The country represented by this flag was once known as Pleasant Island. What is it now called?
Nauru covers a very small area of just 8.1 square miles (21 square km) making it the third smallest country after the Vatican City and Monaco
This is the flag of Papua New Guinea. It is marked by a Raggiana bird-of-paradise and five stars which represent which constellation?
The Plough
The Southern Cross
The Little Bear
The Southern Crown
The Southern Cross features on a total of five national flags. As well as Papua New Guinea it is also found on the flags of Australia, New Zealand, Samoa and Brazil
This is the flag of which country, the only Pacific island country never to have been governed by a foreign power?
During the 18th century Tonga became known as the Friendly Islands because of the welcome given to Captain James Cook who arrived during the feast of inasi. Though once under the protection of Great Britain, Tonga has always been a self-governing state
This is the flag of which territory of New Zealand? It was originally called Union Islands by its European discoverers.
Pitcairn Islands
Solomon Islands
The islands became a British Protectorate during the 19th century. Control was handed over to New Zealand in 1926 and has remained with it ever since. In 1946 the name Tokelau, which means North Wind, was adopted


Author:  Graeme Haw

© Copyright 2016-2023 - Education Quizzes
Work Innovate Ltd - Design | Development | Marketing

Valid HTML5

We use cookies to make your experience of our website better.

To comply with the new e-Privacy directive, we need to ask for your consent - I agree - No thanks - Find out more